Midwifery myth: Midwives have no formal education

Certified midwife education

There is often some confusion about the kind of formal training midwives receive. At the University of Iowa Health Care, the midwives are all certified nurse practitioners working in the department of obstetrics and gynecology. To become a certified nurse midwife one obtains a bachelor’s degree in the field of nursing, a master’s degree in nurse-midwifery, and then certification through the American College of Nurse Midwives.

In the state of Iowa, midwives then become licensed independent practitioners with prescriptive authority. Recertification is completed every five years. Most certified nurse midwives work in a clinic or hospital setting.

Learn more about our midwives and the services they offer.

Last reviewed: 
April 2017

Interested in using our health content?