Beacon Award for Excellence

University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics is the first and only hospital in the state of Iowa to have a Gold Beacon unit designated by The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). Additionally, four units have earned Silver Beacon awards.

Gold Beacon Award for Excellence

  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)
  • 4 Roy Carver Pavilion (RCP)

Silver Beacon Award for Excellence

  • Surgical and Neurosciences Intensive Care Unit
  • 4 John Pappajohn Pavilion (JPP)
  • 3 John Colloton Pavilion (JCP)
  • Burn Treatment Center

About the Beacon Award for Excellence

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN)'s Beacon Award designates three levels recognizing significant milestones along a unit’s journey. For patients and families, the Beacon Award signifies exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall satisfaction. For nurses, a Beacon Award signals a positive and supportive work environment with greater collaboration between colleagues and leaders, higher morale and lower turnover. The Beacon Award includes bronze, silver and gold levels so that a unit can chart its excellence journey over time. Beacon Award recipients receive a three-year designation.

Interested in joining our nursing team?

If you want to work with extraordinary nurses in an exciting and challenging environment, please consider what the Iowa difference can do for you and your career. We offer many career opportunities for talented nurses eager to make their mark.

Browse available positions